Kim H. Veltman

E-Culture Net
European Network of Centres of Excellence for Research and Education in Digital Culture

Published in: EVA Moscow, Moscow: Centre PIC of Ministry of Culture of Russia, December 2002, pp. 24-28.

1. Introduction
2. Research Matrix
3. Distributed European Electronic Resource (DEER)
4. European Masters and Doctorates
5. Developments
Appendix 1. Tentative Titles of the Proposed Integrated Projects.

1. Introduction

At the time of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for Multimedia Access to Europe’s Cultural Heritage (1995-1998), the European Commission began plans for a Network of Centres of Excellence in Digital Culture. This idea was formalized with the opening of the MEDICI Framework (Vienna, October 1998). While not directly funded at that time, a small group of universities (Maastricht, Bologna, Madrid, Scuola Normale, and Cologne) developed the idea. By the beginning of 2001, this group had grown to include 28 institutions, five European networks and two International networks. As of 1 July 2002, this group of 35 members, known as E-Culture Net, became a thematic network under the 5th Framework Programme (IST-2001-37491) working to establish an European Network of Centres of Excellence in the 6th Framework Programme (FP). In September a website was launched: E-Culture Net has representatives in fifteen EC member states who are working together in developing the vision of the network. E-Culture Net brings together those directly engaged in research and education. E-Culture Net has three action lines:

1) research matrix;
2) Distributed European Electronic Resource (DEER);
3) European Masters and Doctoral Programmes.

Read full article